Low Back Rehab and Training Cycle Goals

Posted on

Last week when I was at the gym I decided to deadlift for the first time in awhile and didn’t warm up properly nor was I wearing a belt and I jacked my back up. Again.  It wasn’t to bad and I got it fixed up nice but I have to be more diligent about my back.

Low Back Rehab/Prehab-
Warm Up- Defranco’s Agile 8 (every lifting day)
Along with that warm up I’ll be doing either band goodmornings or reverse hypers every lifting day as well.  The gym doesn’t have a reverse hyper so I have to improvise.  Both exercises will be more rep focused than weight focused.

Aside from that each day I’ll stretch/foam roll my hamstrings, hip flexors, glutes, and piriformis.  I’ll also be doing bird dogs and fire hydrant circles (33 seconds into video) as well.

Training Goals

Overall by the end of the summer I’d like to bench 300, box squat 375, military press 190, and deadlift 400.

I’ll test these the week before the weekend of August 14th which is when I’ll be heading down to Wichita to take my CSCS exam.

I’m not completely abandoning the odd object training that I’ve been doing either.  There will be days that my whole workout is done at the gym while others I’ll hit the gym for my primary lift and then back out to the park for my accessory work.

Accessory Focus

DB Rows/Snatch/Press/Swing
Pull Ups
Dips
Lunges
Split Squats
Sled Dragging
GHR’s

I’m sure there are some I’m forgetting but most training days will be limited to the main movement and 2-3 accessories.

Conditioning

I will keep my conditioning and cardio going as well as a clean diet to keep dropping body fat but I’m soley focused on the scale dropping anymore.  I’d rather do a recomp where I keep the calories right around maintenance and slowly drop body fat and put on muscle at the same time.  I’ll utilize a little bit of everything but I’ll be doing more sled dragging, jump rope, and hill sprints then anything.

 Cavo Profundus

Leave a Reply

