Top Notch Resources and a Recipe

Posted on

Since it’s probably going to be another week before I get a blog post ready to go I’m going to share the resources I don’t have linked to my blog that I have been frequenting a lot lately.

www.robbwolf.com

www.everdaypaleo.com

www.paleofood.com

www.paleoplan.com

www.superhumanradio.com

http://gymnasticbodies.com/

http://benbruno.blogspot.com/

www.eatwild.com

www.localharvest.com

www.realmilk.com 

You’ll notice that most all of these have to do with food.  Lately I’ve been putting even more effort into eating as paleo as possible (basically eating paleo entails cutting out ALL processed foods including dairy).  When I get a couple days tied together where I eat only fruit, veggies, sweet potatoes, and meat I feel absolutely great.  As soon as I throw in something processed I’m back to feeling like bloated and sick.  Performance nutrition does not mean supplements!  If you want a bigger, badder, better running engine (your body) then you have to give it the best quality fuel possible.  While I would love to be able to eat 100% organic, it’s not going to happen for awhile so I do the best I can.  When I get the chance I pick up some organic fruit and veggies.  With any luck I’ll get some grass-fed beef and chicken this weekend :D. 

For those of you like like to read, here’s a couple great authors I recommend on the topics of training, nutrition, and supplementation.

Orio Hofmekler
 Loren Cordain
Wesley Silveira
Bill Star
Mark Rippetoe
Brooks Kubik
Mike Mahler
Dr. Mauro DiPasquale

Last but not least, a simple but damn tasty recipe! (I may be giving myself to much credit calling it a “recipe” lol)

Sweet n Spicy Cajun Sweet Potato Fries
1 Large Sweet Potato
Pat’s Creole Seasoning
Olive Oil or Butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Next, simply cut the sweet potato into whatever size fries you want (I usually opt for smaller shoestring fries since they cook faster).  Cover a baking sheet with tin foil.  In a separate bowl mix olive oil or melted butter with Pat’s Creole Seasoning.  I’ve never actually measured either of these ingredients so just keep in mind that the seasoning can be pretty overwhelming if you get it on really heavy.  You can always shake some more on after they are done cooking if you want a stronger flavor.  Once your have those two mixed, add the fries, cover the bowel, and toss so that all the fries are evenly coated in oil and seasoning.  Once they are coated spread them evenly on the baking sheet and cook for 20-25 minutes.  If you cut them thicker they may need to cook even longer then 25 minutes so just experiment a little bit.  After cooking I lay them out on a paper towel to absorb the left over oil. 

Leave a Reply

