C3D3- Bench

Posted on

Wide Grip Paused Bench Press-
185 x 5
185 x 4
175 x 4

Fat Bar Kroc Row-
90 x 10 each arm
90 x 10 each arm

Kroc Row-
135 x 12 each arm

Flat DB Press- 5 sec negative each rep
65 x 8
55 x 5, 3

DB Front Raise- Thumbs Up
10 x 10
25 x 10
25 x 10

Chins/Pull Ups-
50 total reps done throughout training session

I was pretty pissed that I didn’t press any better than I did but after thinking about it I can’t be to angry. First of all I only bench 225 at the meet. This was primarily because I’ve always benched with a fairly close grip and I have never trained with any type of pause. Last night I not only brought my grip out 4-5 inches, I also held a 2 second pause on my chest so I can’t really expect to be pressing well right now.

For the past couple years I’ve had some issues with my left shoulder whenever I bench press. It doesn’t matter if I’m using dumbbells or a bar either. It doesn’t hurt, but I just hit a point where my shoulder has no power and I end up having to flare my elbow way out to try and finish it with my triceps. This really jacks up my form and limits my progress. What started this all was I lost control of a dumbbell while I was incline pressing and I basically externally rotated my shoulder with a 90# dumbbell in my hand. I saw an ortho who said that I didn’t have any type of damage to the shoulder, I’ve just never really got back to where I was. I really think that I jacked up my front delt as well as the biceps tendon that wraps up over the shoulder. They’re not damaged, they’re just damn weak so I need to build those up before I’m going to get a good press. I may even play around with some reverse grip overhead pressing and some neutral grip overhead pressing to build that area up.

Leave a Reply

