C3D5- Pistols and Conditioning

Posted on

This was Tuesdays workout.

AM:
I worked on some pistol box squats and full pistols with the TRX but I couldn’t get past parallel without just dropping on my ass when I was doing the box squats. After thinking about it for a bit I remembered what the Iron Tamer David Whitley said when he was working on getting to a full pistol squat. The problem wasn’t really a strength issue, it was more balance so he used a kettlebell as a counter balance. So I grabbed my kettlebell (30#) and since I was training in flat soled shoes I grabbed a board that’s about 3/8 of an inch thick to elevate my heel on. After doing that I went from only being able to go about half way down to a full eccentric pistol squat in about 5 minutes. Now I just need to be able to stand up lol.

PM:
Hill Sprints x 10 (approximately 25 yards)

Took yesterday (Wednesday) completely off.

Leave a Reply

