Jugg Method Wrap Up

Posted on

I finished the Chad W. Smiths Juggernaut Method program last week so I thought I’d give a review.

My first impression was that it was very similar to Wendlers 5/3/1, which he openly states that Wendler is where he got a portion of his ideas, and I was little skeptical to be honest.  Long story short though is that it’s a solid program.  The first two waves are pretty high volume and very challenging.  I was worried about my 1RM but the extra volume did nothing but help.  I was feeling good this last week so instead of going for rep maxes I went ahead and tested out some singles on squat, bench, and deadlift.  Military press I stuck with a rep max.

Bench Press- 235 x 1 (+10lbs from March)
Squat- 335 x 1 (+15lbs from March)

Both of these were about a 8-9/10 effort. Add some adrenaline, a belt for bench, and some knee wraps for the squat and I think I’ll have some great improvements at the meet.

I was a little beat up by Friday so I only went up to 385 for a single. It felt heavy and slow but my training partner said it looked like I pulled it easy which tells me I have way more in the tank. I’m going to continue training for the next two weeks instead of taking a deload week. My wife and I are going out of town for a week at the end of September/beginning of October and I probably won’t be lifting when we’re gone. I’m working on my new training cycle to get ready for my meet in November.

Leave a Reply

