Power Veggies

Posted on

 Nutritional Powerhouse!

Since I’ve been doing a version of the Warrior diet, I’ve tried to start each night with a nice big salad to help curb appetite just a little and to add some fiber.  Now that I’ve leaned to a more Paleo approach I’m still eating my salad, but I’m trying to make it as nutritious as possible without eating 6 pounds of vegetable matter each night.

My old salads were primarily the bagged variety for the most part with a small amount of ranch dressing (less then two tablespoons per giant bowl of salad).  Here is what they look like now (with explanations why I selected each one)-

Baby Spinach- Use this as my base. It’s got all the fiber of lettuce but it’s packed with vitamins and minerals.
Red/Yellow/Orange Peppers- The red are the most nutritious of the bell peppers and they have a slightly sweet flavor.
Red Cabbage- Cruciferous veggies are high in Indole-3-Carbinol which helps eliminate xenoestrogens from the body.
Cucumbers- Taste 😀
Litehouse Avocado/Jalpeno Blend- They do make this stuff with canola oil so I’ll try and make my own later but avocado has some great omega-3 fats and the addition jalapenos makes it a great dressing.
Sunflower Seeds- Taste and a small amount of omega-3 fats.  These also help filter out xenoestrogens I believe.
Hard Boiled Eggs- Fat, protein, flavor.  Nuff said.

Now you can eat whatever veggies you want but these are my choices for the most part.  This, however, is not my only veggie intake.  I will throw in some grilled asparagus or steamed broccoli when I feel the need/desire.  I try to vary my veggie intake but that salad is my basic go-to.

Before I hear from anyone saying that they hate veggies and take a multi so they don’t need to worry about it, remember this, you’ll never get a better absorbing vitamin/mineral complex in a pill form then you will from food.  Nature isn’t stupid. 

Also I’m definitely not going vegetarian or vegan either.  There are few things that make me happier then a plate full of grilled, dead animal on my plate :D. 

Leave a comment